I am so glad that it is finally Friday!  The winter grind is starting to get to me…or maybe it is the pesky feeling that I have in my throat.  Any-hoo…it is time for Flower Friday!  Nothing like a little flower talk to make the day better!

Since I just posted on flower girl dresses, maybe this would be a good time to post on flowers for the flower girl.  As much as a I love munchkin members of every bridal party, things can go wrong with kiddos.  If they are too young or too shy, they may choose to not walk down the aisle at all.  If they are a little too rambunctious, they may choose to run down the aisle screaming.  Awesome.  I am not trying to scare you, but I am giving you fair warning.  My suggestion, pick kids that you know and love that are old enough and mature enough to handle being a member of your bridal party.  My flower girl was 5 and did an amazing job!  Super cute and perfectly behaved!

Also, keep it simple!  I can not stress this enough.  Kids have more than enough to worry about just making it down the aisle.  Don’t add in the extra stress of throwing flower petals.  I know.  I know.  I am no fun.  Sorry!  Just think about it. [Side story – one of my bridesmaids was a flower girl when she was 7.  As she walked down the aisle, she tripped and fell flat on her face.  That is the worst.  I wasn’t kidding when I said that flower girls have more than enough to worry about just getting down the aisle.]

Ok…back to flowers.  I think pomanders are super cute for little girls to carry!  They can be made any size and don’t involve any throwing action.  🙂  Your florist can make them using all different flowers.  If you are on a budget, you can make a paper pomander for the wee one to carry.

Here are a few options:

This is my cutie-patootie flower girl carrying a button mum and garden rose pomander.  Pink and green of course.

These girls are carrying gorgeous orchid and ribbon pomanders.  I love the way that the ribbon is folded over between the flowers.  Photo from Fancy Pants Weddings.

I know that there are not any cute little ones carrying these pomanders, but I think that they would be the perfect.  They are made from tissue paper!  It is hard to believe, but they only cost $5-7.50 per pomander.  They do, however, require time and little bit of creativity.  Photos from Ruffled Blog.  You can learn how to make them there as well.

 

I hope this helps!  Happy Friday!

