Although people know what things are important to a wedding, no one has any idea how much each aspect costs until they have the estimate in hand.

My husband always tells me that I should look at the price tag of an item before I pick it up, but I really struggle with that thought.  I know quality when I see it, and I have a hard time letting go of it.  For this reason, I have determined means of getting quality things for lower prices, especially when it comes to weddings.  Isn’t that what everyone wants!  For that reason, I decided to run a little mini-series on how to save money on some important wedding day items without sacrificing quality.

Let’s start with one of my favorites!  CAKE!  Who doesn’t love a beautiful wedding cake.  Other than the bride, it is the show stopper of the reception, which means it should be spectacular not sub-par.

How?  Flip through the bridal magazines, the knot, and your fabulous imagination and come up with a cake in which you are in love.  Go to your local bakery or the pastry chef at your reception venue.  Show him or her pictures or a sketch of your ideas and have them come back to you with a price for the cake of your dreams for the full number of guests at your wedding.  I love cakes with color!  Here is a great example:

Now you have numbers to work with.  If your cake was supposed to be 4 tiers (for 150 people) and $6 per slice, ask about doing 2 tiers of the same design (for 50 people) and sheet cakes of the same flavor for the remaining guests.  If your wedding planner has it timed appropriately, no one will ever know that you were hiding sheet cakes in the kitchen.  If 50 guests costs $6 per slice but the remaining guests only cost $2.50 per slice, you have gone from a $900 cake to a $550 without sacrificing design, quality or taste.

If that is still a little too expensive for your taste, consider going with the 2 tier version in a plain cake flavor (ie vanilla or chocolate) and buying sheet cakes for your remaining guests at Costco or Sam’s club.  I know what you are thinking…COSTCO, my wedding cake?  Hear me out.  #1 Costco cakes taste amazing (just like their cookies).  #2 The cake that everyone sees is the expensive one, so no one will ever know that you had Costco cakes hiding in the Kitchen. #3 If you have a good Wedding Planner and DJ, who can orchestrate your reception flow, no one will ever realize where their piece of cake is coming from (for more info on this, email me to set up an appointment).  You can probably cut off another $100-200 going with your local wholesale club for your sheet cakes.

If all of these options are still to expensive to get the cake of your dreams, consider having a fake cake made out of styrofoam and draped in fondant with all of the intricacies of the cake of your dreams.  The companies that do this, make beautiful cakes and each of them has a “trap door” in the back so that you can put a piece of real cake under the fondant for the cake cutting.  It is tricky, but really effective.  Then you can buy sheet cakes for your guests at a wholesale club and save a tremendous amount of money.  The Teal and White cake on the right is an example.

If all of these options are still outside of your budget, send me an email and I will list a few more options for you!

